Dr. MiltieAtlas by Dr. Miltie™Healthcare Grant Intelligence
ActiveAtlas Opportunity Score 86/100

Virginia 2026-2029 Comprehensive Literacy State Development (CLSD) Grant

Virginia school divisions may apply for the 2026-2029 Comprehensive Literacy State Development grant to support sustained evidence-based literacy initiatives, including family-engagement literacy resources from birth through Kindergarten entry and the Literacy Improvement Network. Applications are due October 1, 2026 at noon. Atlas Opportunity Score: 86/100.

FundingCurrent 2026-2029 award pool and applicant cap are not stated on the public VDOE program page; VDOE reports that the prior 2025-2026 cycle provided more than $7 million to 106 schools in 27 divisions, but that prior-year figure is not treated as the current award amount.
DeadlineOctober 1, 2026 at 12:00 PM (noon)
Last verifiedSeptember 14, 2026
Required next actionComplete the division-level application and Comprehensive Literacy State Development Grant Budget Workbook, including required division contacts, federal assurances, administrative requirements, cost principles and programmatic overview, and submit by October 1, 2026 at 12:00 PM (noon). VDOE's current program page lists September 21 information sessions and September 28 office hours, while the downloadable Information Guide still lists September 17 information sessions; verify the current session schedule on the VDOE program page before relying on the guide. No local match is required.

Broad Eligibility

Eligible Virginia school divisions may apply on behalf of their schools for a three-year 2026-2029 grant award. The application must be submitted by one division-level employee. The current VDOE Information Guide confirms that applicants are not required to provide a local match, that expenses must be directly related to proposed activities, and that annual awards remain contingent on continued federal CLSD funding, continued eligibility and satisfactory implementation/reporting.

Atlas Analysis

Atlas Opportunity Score: 86/100. This is a substantial, highly competitive statewide education opportunity focused on evidence-based literacy, family engagement, educator capacity, resources and service providers. The controlling VDOE materials confirm an August 4-October 1, 2026 application window, a deadline of October 1 at noon, and a requirement that grant-funded expenses be directly related to proposed activities. Current award pool and applicant cap remain unstated. N9+ Fit Score: 0/100 for routine healthcare or clinical technology because the verified scope is literacy-focused rather than healthcare, telehealth or clinical technology, so no N9+ outreach is warranted under the verified scope.

Opportunity Overview

The Virginia 2026–2029 Comprehensive Literacy State Development (CLSD) Grant is a three-year school-division funding opportunity designed to sustain and expand evidence-based literacy supports. The application window runs August 4 through October 1, 2026 at noon.

Program Structure

Beginning with the 2026–2029 cycle, eligible Virginia school divisions apply for a three-year grant award rather than re-competing each year. VDOE says the program is intended to strengthen literacy structures, tools, capacity, resources, and service providers, including family-engagement literacy resources from birth through kindergarten entry and the Literacy Improvement Network.

Who Can Apply

Eligible Virginia school divisions may apply on behalf of their schools. One division-level employee must submit the application and budget workbook, and the submission requires division points of contact plus acknowledgement of general assurances, administrative requirements, federal cost principles, Uniform Guidance requirements, and a programmatic overview.

Funding Context

VDOE reports that the prior 2025–2026 cycle provided more than $7 million to 106 schools across 27 divisions, but the current 2026–2029 applicant pool and per-applicant ceiling are not stated on the public program page. Atlas therefore does not recycle the prior-year funding figure as the current award amount. The 2026–2029 opportunity is also contingent on VDOE receiving its federal Grant Award Notification and associated U.S. Department of Education funds.

Atlas Strategic Analysis

Atlas Opportunity Score: 86/100. This is a significant education-system opportunity for divisions prepared to make sustained literacy investments across multiple years. The strongest applications should connect evidence-based instruction, educator capacity, family engagement, leadership systems, student subgroup needs, and measurable literacy outcomes.

N9+ Direct Vendor Fit: 0/100 for a routine healthcare purchase. CLSD is a literacy grant, not a school-health, telehealth, or clinical-technology program. Technology may support literacy implementation where allowed, but clinical devices do not align with the core purpose and should not be forced into the budget.

Recommended Next Action

Register for one of the September 21 information sessions if additional clarification is needed, review the 2026–2027 Literacy Grant Information Guide and FAQ, finalize the division-level application and budget workbook, and submit by October 1, 2026 at noon. VDOE is also offering optional office hours on September 28.

Verified source: Virginia Department of Education — Comprehensive Literacy State Development Grant.

Source verificationOfficial government source · www.doe.virginia.govAtlas last verified this record September 14, 2026. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗