Dr. MiltieAtlas by Dr. Miltie™Healthcare Grant Intelligence
ActiveAtlas Opportunity Score 46/100

South Dakota Rural Schools Collaborative Grants in Place 2026-27

FundingUp to $2,500 per rural classroom grant; total 2026-27 program pool is not publicly stated.
DeadlineOctober 30, 2026 at 11:59 PM CDT.
Last verifiedSeptember 14, 2026
Required next actionEligible South Dakota public rural-school teachers should confirm the specific school's current NCES locale code and prior-recipient status, then submit a place-based education project through the linked application by October 30, 2026 at 11:59 PM CDT. No N9+/QC outreach is recommended under the current scope.

Broad Eligibility

Teachers currently working in public, rural school districts with NCES locale codes 31, 32, 33, 41, 42, or 43. One application per project and one total award per school. South Dakota applicants are outside the current RSC Regional Hub directory but may compete for the small number of additional awards available outside the Hub Network.

Atlas Analysis

Atlas Opportunity Score 46/100. N9+ Fit Score 0/100. QC Healthcare Fit 0/100. Legitimate rural K-12 education opportunity with a modest $2,500 ceiling and no verified clinical-technology or clinician-services purpose.

Rural Schools Collaborative is accepting applications for its 2026-27 Grants in Place program, which provides rural public-school teachers with classroom grants of up to $2,500 for innovative Place-Based Education projects. The application deadline is October 30, 2026 at 11:59 PM CDT.

Eligible teachers must currently work in a public, rural school district with an NCES locale code of 31, 32, 33, 41, 42, or 43. Only one application may be submitted per project, and selections are limited to one total award per school. Rural Schools Collaborative intends one award within each Regional Hub Partner service area and says a small number of additional awards may go to rural educators outside its Regional Hub Network. South Dakota is not listed as a current Regional Hub, so South Dakota applicants should be treated as outside-network candidates rather than guaranteed hub-region slots.

A current South Dakota eligibility pathway is verified: NCES lists Wolsey Wessington School District 02-6 as an open public district with locale Rural, Remote (43). Rural Schools Collaborative also documents historical South Dakota Grants in Place recipients. Each applicant should still confirm the current NCES locale for the specific school and the prior-recipient rule before applying.

Selection considers the quality of the place-based education design, the problem being addressed, student-led involvement, connection to local community assets and stakeholders, and whether the budget and scope are realistic. Prior Grants in Place recipients are ineligible only for the immediately following grant cycle. Selected educators must participate in two virtual cohort and professional-development calls, share project updates and photos, and attend a virtual Celebration of Learning.

The controlling public program page does not state a mandatory match or cost-share requirement, a separate solicitation number, the total 2026-27 funding pool, or a detailed eligible/ineligible cost list. Applications are submitted through the Google Form linked from the official Rural Schools Collaborative page.

Atlas assessment: Atlas Opportunity Score 46/100. N9+ Fit Score 0/100. QC Healthcare Fit 0/100. This is a teacher-led education grant and does not establish a clinical-care, telehealth, remote-examination, or clinician-services purpose, so Dr. Miltie technology or clinical services should not be forced into the opportunity.

Source verificationReferenced source · ruralschoolscollaborative.orgAtlas last verified this record September 14, 2026. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗