Open initial-proposal stage since October 6, 2026; deadline December 2, 2026 at noon ET. Full proposal stage invitation-only. Official 2027 guidelines, FAQ and Terms of Award verified October 30, 2026.
Massachusetts 2027 Deborah Munroe Noonan Memorial Research Fund (Up to $160,000; December 2 Initial Proposal)
FundingUp to $160,000 per individual project over two years (up to $80,000 in each year), inclusive of allowable indirect costs capped at 20% of direct costs ($26,666 maximum for a $160,000 award). Total program pool not stated.
DeadlineDecember 2, 2026 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern Time (ET) for initial proposal. Full proposals only by invitation; anticipated award period September 1, 2027 to August 31, 2029.
Last verified2026-10-30
Required next actionReview 2027 Noonan Initial Proposal Guidelines, FAQs and Terms of Award; check eligibility against listed Greater Boston towns and >=60% participant residence requirement. Submit initial online application to HRiA Award Manager at https://hria.us-1.smartsimple.com/ by Dec 2, 2026, noon ET; include two-page initial project proposal, organization/collaborator profile, timeline, biosketches and institutional sign-off. Invited applicants alone move to full application.
Broad Eligibility
Eligible nonprofits, medical/academic organizations or research institutions, with applicant position in fund-defined Greater Boston communities. Research or pilot/evaluation projects for children and adolescents birth through age 23 with chronic physical, developmental, behavioral or emotional disabilities, >=60% participants residing in eligible geographic towns. Institutional authorized representative required; project team includes research expertise and meaningful disability lived-experience engagement. One principal investigator per proposal.
Atlas Analysis
Official 2027 12-page Noonan Initial Proposal Guidelines, 5-page FAQ, and 8-page Terms of Award reviewed including page-image inspection October 30, 2026. Bank of America N.A. trustee; Health Resources in Action (HRiA) administrator. Up to $160,000 per applicant across two years, $80,000 each year; up to 20% indirect of direct costs. Initial proposal deadline Dec 2 at 12 PM ET, online portal since Oct 6, later full stage invitation only. Eligible Greater Boston nonprofit/academic institutions, age birth-23, 60% local participants, disability research/pilot/evaluation and lived-experience involvement. Exclusions basic science, primary prevention, drug trials, direct services, construction and major equipment. Eligible personnel and related research expenses; approved budget and reporting, institutional research clearances, no stated match requirement. Source PDF https://hria.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/2027-Noonan-Initial-Proposal-Guidelines.pdf ; FAQ https://hria.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/2027-Noonan-FAQs.pdf ; terms https://hria.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/2027-Noonan-Terms-of-Award.pdf . Published and unpublished WordPress grants searched before creation; no Noonan 2027 duplicate. No unsafe publication transition.
2027 Deborah Munroe Noonan Memorial Research Fund
Bank of America, N.A., trustee, and administrator Health Resources in Action invite initial research proposals from eligible Greater Boston nonprofit and academic institutions. Grants support pilot studies, health-services research and evaluation to improve the quality of life of children and young people with chronic physical, developmental, behavioral or emotional disabilities.
Individual award and deadline
Each grant may provide up to $160,000 over two years, allocated at no more than $80,000 each year, including permitted institutional indirect costs. The anticipated project period is September 1, 2027 through August 31, 2029. Initial proposals are due December 2, 2026 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern Time. This is an open initial-proposal stage; detailed full proposals are submitted only by invitation.
Eligibility and geographic requirements
Applicants must hold a position at an eligible nonprofit or academic institution within the fund-defined Greater Boston geographic area. Project participants must be ages birth through 23 with specified chronic disabilities, with at least 60% living in the eligible geographic area. Review the official list of eligible towns before applying. Proposals must include research expertise and meaningful engagement of people with disability lived experience. Community-led work, partnerships, and health equity receive priority. Only one principal investigator may lead each application.
Restrictions and financial conditions
Research, evaluation and pilot projects qualify. Direct-service-only activities, primary prevention, drug trials, basic science, device development, buildings, renovations, and major equipment are excluded. Supported project costs include proportional personnel salaries and fringe benefits, directly related supplies and research expenses, approved publications and scientific travel. Indirect expenses may not exceed 20% of direct costs, or $26,666 for a full $160,000 award. A mandatory applicant match is not specified in the controlling 2027 instructions. Institutional sign-off and applicable research approvals are required. Funds must follow an approved budget, with financial records retained and expenditure restrictions observed.
How to apply
Apply in the HRiA Award Manager portal at https://hria.us-1.smartsimple.com/ with organization and investigator information, authorized institutional representative certification, a two-page initial proposal excluding bibliography, organization and collaborators profile, project timeline and milestones, and biosketch or CV. Read the controlling 2027 guidelines, FAQs, and Terms of Award at https://hria.org/grants/noonan/ and https://hria.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/2027-Noonan-Initial-Proposal-Guidelines.pdf before submission.
Source verificationReferenced source · hria.orgAtlas last verified this record 2026-10-30. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗