Opportunity Overview
The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families Get Kids Ready initiative supports licensed and certified child care providers serving 4-year-olds with school readiness programming. The current payment application for the July through September 2026 service period is open through September 20, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. DCF publishes the closing time but does not state a time zone, so Atlas does not infer one.
Funding
Wisconsin allocates $65 million per year to Get Kids Ready. The maximum a participating provider could receive is $7,045 per participating child for the 2026-27 school year. DCF estimates an annual per-child range of $3,600 to $7,045. Actual amounts depend on participating-child counts and may be prorated.
Eligibility
This is not a new general enrollment period. The current payment window is limited to child care providers already determined eligible by DCF after completing the Intent to Participate and Program Eligibility Verification Application. Participating providers must be Wisconsin certified or licensed child care providers in good standing, provide at least 437 hours of school readiness instruction, use curriculum aligned with the Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards, not have a school district 4K contract for the same school year, and use lead teachers with an associate or bachelor’s degree for Get Kids Ready instruction.
Current Payment Application
Eligible providers submit through the DCF Child Care Provider Portal. The September Payment Application requires providers to confirm or update program information, verify qualifying lead teacher degrees, and list children enrolled in Get Kids Ready who attended at least one day during the applicable count period. DCF may also ask optional implementation questions.
Payment Schedule
The four 2026-27 Payment Application windows are September 1 through 20, 2026; November 2 through 18, 2026; February 2 through 17, 2027; and May 3 through 19, 2027. Providers receive payment only for service periods for which they submit the required Payment Application.
Use of Funds
DCF states that payments may support school readiness program costs including salaries and benefits, classroom space, supplies and materials, meals and snacks, technology, and administrative costs. DCF does not state a traditional matching requirement for participating providers.
Atlas Strategic Analysis
Atlas Opportunity Score: 82/100. This is a substantial Wisconsin early childhood education funding stream with a verified active payment window, but the currently actionable pool is limited to providers already approved by DCF for the 2026-27 school year.
N9+ Fit: 0/100. The program supports school readiness services rather than remote physical examination.
QC Healthcare Fit: 0/100. This is education and child care program funding rather than a clinical equipment or healthcare procurement opportunity.
Dr. Miltie direct-applicant fit: 0/100. The current payment window is restricted to participating Wisconsin child care providers already determined eligible by DCF.
Required Next Action
Previously approved Get Kids Ready providers should complete the July through September service-period Payment Application in the DCF Child Care Provider Portal by September 20, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. Because DCF does not publish a deadline time zone, Atlas should not infer one for outreach or submission planning.
Verified sources: Wisconsin DCF Get Kids Ready for Providers and Get Kids Ready Payment Applications.