OPEN per Ohio EPA PY2027 notice, November 2 to December 18, 2026; approval verification pending review of the complete online application, any portal-specific prerequisites and the grant agreement.
Ohio EPA PY2027 Water Rate Study Grants (Up to $20,000; December 18, 2026)
Ohio community public water systems serving fewer than 10,000 people may seek reimbursement grants up to $20,000 for consultant-led water rate studies. 2027 cycle closes December 18, 2026 at 3:00 p.m. (time zone not specified).
FundingMaximum $20,000 reimbursement per eligible Ohio community public water system for a qualified third-party water rate study; no overall grant pool stated. Ohio EPA may reduce award; reimbursement is limited to approved post-agreement eligible project costs.
DeadlineProgram year 2027 applications open November 2, 2026 and close December 18, 2026 at 3:00 p.m.; official notice does not state a time zone.
Last verified2026-11-04
Required next actionReview Ohio EPA's Drinking Water Grants 2027 Water Rate Study Grant rules and its online application at https://epa.ohio.gov/divisions-and-offices/drinking-and-ground-waters/ddgw-programs/drinking-water-funding-resources/drinking-water-grants. Verify applicant water-system population and third-party consultant scope; submit by December 18 at 3:00 p.m. with all portal-requested documents. Contact DDAGW.Grants@epa.ohio.gov for grant guidance.
Broad Eligibility
Ohio community public water systems serving fewer than 10,000 persons; eligible for reimbursement toward comprehensive third-party water rate studies. Excludes general utility financial audits, billing upgrades, rate implementation, legal fees, internal staff work and pre-award costs.
Atlas Analysis
2026-11-04: Read current official Ohio EPA Drinking Water Grants PY2027 program narrative and official EPA help desk confirming new Nov 2-Dec 18 application window; verified $20,000 applicant reimbursement ceiling, eligible community water systems under 10,000, allowable and excluded expenses, reimbursement terms and study timing. Official public program page says online application is available, but full authenticated application questions, supporting templates and contract terms not independently inspected. No match requirement expressed in reviewed notice. Search of published/pending grant titles and current source returned no same-cycle grant record. Pending Review only; not approved.
Ohio EPA 2027 Water Rate Study Grant
Application window: November 2 through December 18, 2026, closing at 3:00 p.m. Ohio EPA does not specify a time zone on the reviewed notice. The agency describes the program-year 2027 online application as available.
Individual funding: Up to $20,000 per eligible water system in reimbursement, not an overall statewide allocation. Ohio EPA may award a lower amount or decline an application. Reimbursement follows a fully executed grant agreement and acceptable deliverables. No applicant cost-share requirement was identified in the reviewed program description; confirm all terms in the agreement.
Eligible applicants: Ohio community public water systems serving fewer than 10,000 people. The program helps systems obtain an independent, qualified third-party consultant for a comprehensive water rate study.
Allowable work: Consultant services, rate and revenue-requirements analysis, financial modeling, expense and depreciation review, reserves and capital needs, customer-class analysis, affordability evaluation, written recommendations, governing-body presentations and final report. General audits, billing-system upgrades, rate-change implementation, legal fees, in-house staff salaries and pre-award costs are excluded.
Application and payment: Submit via Ohio EPA’s official online grant application. Successful applicants must execute a grant agreement before incurring reimbursable expenses. Complete the study and request reimbursement within nine months of full execution unless an extension is approved in writing; supporting evidence of expenditure and study documentation are required. The notice also states completed third-party study documentation is due within 60 days after the project period. Review the agreement to reconcile these requirements.
Source: Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, Division of Drinking and Ground Waters, Drinking Water Grants, program year 2027 guidance. Applicants must consult the live portal and any current amendments before submission.
Source verificationOfficial government source · epa.ohio.govAtlas last verified this record 2026-11-04. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗