OPEN — Bridge Builders Main Street Microgrants applications accepted September 9 through November 13, 2026. Exact closing hour and time zone not stated by funder.
Michigan — Michigan Municipal League Foundation 2026–2027 Bridge Builders Main Street Microgrants (Up to $5,000; November 13)
Up to $5,000 for eligible locally led creative placemaking projects in Michigan Municipal League downtowns. Deadline November 13, 2026. Municipalities, DDAs, improvement districts and qualifying local businesses eligible; nonprofits cannot lead.
FundingUp to $5,000 per Main Street Microgrant. Nine grants total (six across MML communities, three in Lapeer County); that total award count is not an individual applicant limit. No universal match requirement published.
DeadlineNovember 13, 2026; funder does not specify a closing hour or time zone. Projects must start on/after Jan 1, 2027 and be completed Sept 30, 2027 (application preview says projected launch by Aug 28, 2027).
Last verified2026-11-03
Required next actionUse https://mmlfoundation.org/bb-main-street-microgrants/, official four-page preview https://mmlfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/11/BBMainStreetApplicationDistribution.pdf and FAQs https://mmlfoundation.org/2026-bb-faq/; prepare the municipal support letter, two local brick-and-mortar business partners, paid artist/creative lead, project description and funding plan, then apply via the official form by November 13, 2026. Use Lapeer County Community Foundation route for Lapeer projects.
Broad Eligibility
Municipal governments, DDAs, CIDs and qualifying locally owned brick-and-mortar businesses in Michigan Municipal League member communities; nonprofits, chambers as leads, out-of-area businesses and previous recipients excluded. Work must be in downtown/business corridor, involve two local businesses and a paid creative practitioner, and have a municipal leader support letter.
Atlas Analysis
2026-11-03 independently checked original 2026–27 Main Street program description, FAQ and entire four-page application preview including seven screening tests, artist/creative leader details, support letters, project budget, two before photos, electronic certification and reporting. $5,000 applicant cap and Nov 13, 2026 deadline confirmed; exact hour/time zone not published. Prior 2022-23 historic entry pages not treated as new funding. The live Monday.com form itself not independently submitted; protected publisher approval previously denied, no retry. Distinct from Community Microgrant: different applicant types and max $1,500 vs $5,000. All-status WordPress title/meta dedupe returned no previous Michigan MML Foundation Bridge Builders record.
Bridge Builders Main Street Microgrants 2026–2027
The Michigan Municipal League Foundation offers up to $5,000 per project for locally led, creative, community-building downtown and main street projects. Applications opened September 9 and close November 13, 2026. The funder does not publish an exact closing hour or time zone.
Eligible applicants and geographic limits
Projects must take place in a Michigan Municipal League member community, within its downtown, main street or business corridor. Eligible lead applicants are municipalities, Downtown Development Authorities, commercial or neighborhood improvement districts and qualifying locally owned brick-and-mortar businesses. Nonprofits, chambers of commerce as lead applicants, nonlocal businesses and prior Bridge Builders grantees cannot lead this program. Lapeer County applications are routed to the Lapeer County Community Foundation.
Project requirements
Every project must have a paid lead artist, cultural practitioner or creative professional, participation or support from at least two locally owned brick-and-mortar businesses in the same corridor, and a letter of support from an informed municipal leader. Eligible work includes public art, cultural events, storytelling, interactive installations and creative placemaking. Ineligible uses include partisan activities, sectarian religious activities, fee-based fundraising events, loans, routine maintenance, ordinary business rent or payroll, and discriminatory or violent programming.
Application, budget and milestones
The official four-page application preview requires screening certifications, applicant/contact details, city and downtown location, creative-project description and artist contact, two local business supporters, municipal leader letter, project photos including two before photos, a spending explanation, and an electronic signature. The separate project budget is described as optional in the preview. Projects must start January 1, 2027 or later and be completed by September 30, 2027; the live form specifies an anticipated launch no later than August 28, 2027. The FAQ describes payment by check or bank deposit and required final reporting by November 13, 2027. No universal matching percentage is specified in reviewed materials.
Official funding page: https://mmlfoundation.org/bb-main-street-microgrants/ . Official application preview: https://mmlfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/11/BBMainStreetApplicationDistribution.pdf . Official FAQ: https://mmlfoundation.org/2026-bb-faq/ . Verified November 3, 2026.
Source verificationReferenced source · mmlfoundation.orgAtlas last verified this record 2026-11-03. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗