Dr. MiltieAtlas by Dr. Miltie™Healthcare Grant Intelligence
ActiveAtlas Opportunity Score 58/100

Kansas Department of Commerce HEAL 7.0 — Historic Economic Asset Lifeline 2026

Kansas Commerce HEAL 7.0 is open September 21-November 20, 2026 for eligible downtown rehabilitation projects. Building grants offer up to $100,000 and façade grants up to $40,000, with a 1:1 match. The published 5:00 PM closing time does not state a time zone.

Funding$1.5 million total HEAL 7.0 funding. Current program materials state that funding is intended to be split 50/50 between rural and urban projects unless applications do not meet the threshold for that split. Maximum building grant: $100,000. Maximum façade grant: $40,000. Minimum 1:1 match required; proof of building-owner matching funds required.
DeadlineNovember 20, 2026 at 5:00 PM. The current Kansas Commerce program page does not state a time zone.
Last verifiedSeptember 24, 2026
Required next actionVerify property and community eligibility, downtown/corridor location, intended use and tenant, 1:1 match, fiscal-agent structure if applicable, architectural materials, licensed-contractor bids, and exact deadline time zone before applicant-specific outreach.

Broad Eligibility

Designated Kansas Main Street programs, economic development corporations, cities, counties, 501(c)(3) and 501(c)(6) organizations, local community foundations, Tribal Nations or organizations, and businesses with an eligible fiscal agent, for qualifying downtown or connecting-corridor properties meeting HEAL 7.0 location and reuse requirements.

Atlas Analysis

Active Kansas downtown rehabilitation grant. Atlas Opportunity Score 58/100. N9+ Direct Vendor Fit 0/100. QC Healthcare Fit 10/100 and highly conditional because a healthcare/wellness tenant may fit, but the grant funds physical construction and not clinical or communications equipment. No ordinary N9+ positioning.

Opportunity Overview

The Kansas Department of Commerce Historic Economic Asset Lifeline (HEAL) 7.0 program provides matching grants to rehabilitate underutilized, vacant, or deteriorated downtown buildings and return them to productive use. Eligible end uses include new or expanding businesses, housing, arts and culture, civic engagement, childcare, and entrepreneurship.

Funding and Match

Kansas Commerce announced $1.5 million in total HEAL 7.0 funding. The current program materials state that funding is intended to be split 50/50 between rural and urban projects unless applications do not meet the program’s threshold for that split. The maximum building grant is $100,000, and the maximum façade grant is $40,000. Applicants must provide at least a 1:1 match and document the building owner’s matching funds. Other state or federal funds may be used as match when the other funding source permits HEAL funds to be combined without duplication of benefit.

Eligibility

Eligible applicants include designated Kansas Main Street programs, economic development corporations, cities, counties, 501(c)(3) and 501(c)(6) organizations, local community foundations, Tribal Nations or organizations, and businesses that have an eligible fiscal agent. Projects must be located in a downtown business district or connecting corridor and generally in a city with fewer than 50,000 residents; HEAL 7.0 also extends eligibility to qualifying distressed urban areas under the program’s published criteria.

The property must have architectural significance to the district, demonstrate viable reuse as an economic driver, and meet the program’s construction, design, code, and occupancy requirements. No more than one HEAL grant may be awarded to a city in the round.

Eligible and Ineligible Costs

Eligible building costs include physical construction items such as masonry, insulation, foundations, roofs, windows, doors, walls, ceilings, floors, stairs, elevators, lighting and fixtures, electrical wiring, data and communications wiring excluding equipment, HVAC, plumbing, fire suppression, and ADA accessibility improvements. Up to 5% of an award may be retained for administration.

Professional architectural and engineering fees, acquisition costs, and leasing contracts are not eligible building-grant expenses. Façade funding is similarly restricted to qualifying physical improvements. The program is not an equipment-purchase grant.

Required Application Materials

Applications require preliminary architectural drawings, including plans and elevations; color renderings when street-facing façades are involved; actual bids from licensed contractors; a simple business plan for the intended post-construction use; proof of the 1:1 match; and a letter signed by the applicant organization and building owner confirming commitment to the project.

Deadline and Timeline

The HEAL 7.0 application period opened September 21, 2026 and closes November 20, 2026 at 5:00 PM. The current Kansas Commerce program page does not state a time zone, so Atlas does not infer one. Construction must begin by July 1, 2027, reach full completion by July 1, 2029, and have a tenant in place by December 31, 2029.

Atlas Analysis

Atlas Opportunity Score: 58/100. N9+ Direct Vendor Fit: 0/100. QC Healthcare Fit: 10/100, highly conditional. A qualifying healthcare or wellness business could occupy a rehabilitated building, but HEAL funds physical construction and expressly excludes equipment from the data/communications category. Atlas should not position N9+ as a grant-funded purchase under the current rules. Direct Dr. Miltie vendor fit is not established.

Next Steps

Before applicant-specific action, verify the exact property location and distressed-area or population eligibility, downtown/corridor status, building significance, intended tenant or business use, 1:1 match, contractor bids, fiscal-agent structure when applicable, and all required supporting documents. Because the published 5:00 PM closing time has no stated time zone, automated original outreach should fail closed unless the controlling deadline time zone is authoritatively established.

Controlling source: Kansas Department of Commerce HEAL program page.

Source verificationOfficial government source · www.kansascommerce.govAtlas last verified this record September 24, 2026. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗