Dr. MiltieAtlas by Dr. Miltie™Nationwide Grant Intelligence
Open — rolling Essential Library Services Grants; funder does not state a fixed closing date.

National Freedom to Learn Foundation Essential Library Services Grants — Up to $10,000 (Rolling)

Freedom to Learn Foundation offers up to $10,000 for U.S. public or community-based libraries facing documented 2024–25 funding disruptions. Supports staff, internet, educational programs, safe facilities and outreach; rolling application.

FundingUp to $10,000 per eligible library applicant. No mandatory applicant cash-match percentage is specified in the current official program rules.
DeadlineRolling applications; no fixed funder closing date or time published. Grants generally reviewed within 3–4 weeks of receipt.
Last verified2026-10-25
Required next actionReview FTLF current Essential Library Services application guidelines; document eligible library status and 2024–25 funding disruption. Prepare one PDF or Word application with a narrative no longer than two pages, an itemized project budget not exceeding $10,000, a timeline beginning within 60 days after award, prior/current budget evidence, EIN and charitable/governmental status, leadership authorization, signed nonpartisan-use assurance, and reporting agreement. Email to the address and use the subject line on the funder's official application page.

Broad Eligibility

U.S. and territorial public or community-based libraries with established operations and governmental/nonprofit/fiscal sponsorship status, previously eligible for public library funding and experiencing documented losses or credible threats due to 2024–25 policy changes. Rural and marginalized communities prioritized.

Atlas Analysis

Official Freedom to Learn Foundation current Essential Library Services Grant detailed public instructions reviewed October 25, 2026. Applicant max $10,000; match not prescribed publicly; rolling applications. Need evidence of funding loss/credible threat and 2024–25 budget comparison. Eligible uses staffing, internet and public computer access, educational programming, safety, facility accessibility and outreach. Excludes books/media purchases, curriculum-aligned instruction, partisan or political activity/lobbying, bonuses and unrelated overhead. Start within 60 days of award; final report and receipts 90 days after project completion. Application one PDF/Word, 2-page narrative max, itemized budget, status, leadership authorization and signed compliance. Funder decision 3–4 weeks. Private foundation financial assistance, not procurement.

Freedom to Learn Foundation Essential Library Services Grants. The Freedom to Learn Foundation (FTLF) provides applicant-facing financial-assistance grants to qualifying established public or community-based libraries in the United States and U.S. territories facing documented loss, reduction or credible threat to their public funding due to federal, state or regional policies enacted in 2024 or 2025. Priority goes to libraries serving rural, historically marginalized, under-resourced, Tribal, immigrant, refugee and low-income communities.

Individual applicant funding: up to $10,000. The current official program guidelines do not publish a mandatory cash-match percentage. Applicants must document the current/prior-year budget and funding disruption and establish a direct charitable, educational, nonpartisan use for the requested funds.

Eligible applicants: Existing U.S. public or community-based libraries organized as a unit of government/public subdivision, a recognized 501(c)(3) nonprofit, or a fiscally sponsored charitable project. Libraries must have previously received—or been eligible for—government-funded library support and show budget evidence of the recent funding threat. Being a school alone is not sufficient; applicant must operate a qualifying library.

Allowable uses: retaining at-risk public-facing library employees, preserving public computing and internet access, Wi-Fi hotspots and digital literacy, educational/youth programming, facility and patron safety improvements, accessible community outreach, mobile/homebound library services, and other specified charitable public library services.

Excluded costs: buying books, digital content or other media; curriculum-aligned instruction; political activities, lobbying or advocacy campaigns; bonuses; indirect administration not directly tied to the funded services; and any noncharitable expenses. Project activities must begin within 60 days after award. Awardees must maintain receipts and submit a short final report within 90 days after project completion.

Application deadline: Rolling; the official funder page does not specify a fixed close date or submission cutoff. Funding decisions are generally expected within 3–4 weeks of receipt.

How to apply: Email the complete application as one PDF or Word document to the address stated in the funder’s current Essential Library Services Grant Application Criteria and Guidelines, using the prescribed subject line. Include a narrative of no more than two pages, explanation and budgets documenting funding loss, an itemized project budget not exceeding $10,000, project timeline, EIN/charitable or governmental status, organizational lead contact, governing leadership authorization, and signed assurances of charitable/nonpartisan use and final reporting. Applicants must follow the current official program page exactly. Source verified October 25, 2026.

Source verificationReferenced source · www.ftlf.orgAtlas last verified this record 2026-10-25. Always use the funder's current application materials, amendments and portal instructions as the controlling source.View source and application materials ↗